reklama

The World According to HBO.

I first heard about Sex and the City sometimes in 1998, the year when it premiered on HBO. That year Mečiar was still in power and I was finally packing my bags. I was on the plane which landed in Chicago the night before Michael Jordan scored his last two decisive points for Bulls and thus winning them NBA title, a mere 5.2 seconds before the final ring. That day one era ended and the first season of the new one began.

Písmo: A- | A+
Diskusia  (34)
There are 1.3 million single men in New York, 1.8 million single women, and of these more than 3 million people, about twelve of them think they're having enough sex.
There are 1.3 million single men in New York, 1.8 million single women, and of these more than 3 million people, about twelve of them think they're having enough sex. 

“There are 1.3 million single men in New York, 1.8 million single women, and of these more than 3 million people, about twelve of them think they're having enough sex.”.

In 1998 I didn’t watch much of a TV (I didn’t have one) with the exception of World Cup Soccer playing out on a giant screen in student cafeteria. That summer I picked up sailing and ended up spending most of my time on the lake. I remember the bright evenings and sounds of the water rocking the boats, sipping my cranberry juice outside on a terrace, surveying girls dancing their hormones out just 10 feet from me. My hands, legs, and the rest moved with music, but I never jumped in.

SkryťVypnúť reklamu
Článok pokračuje pod video reklamou
Obrázok blogu

”No matter who broke your heart, or how long it takes to heal, you'll never get through it without your friends.” I didn’t think about the relationships much then. I just left my first long-term girlfriend in Slovakia and was … I had that intuitive sense to be nice to girls, to truly love them with all my being, and maybe marry the one some day and didn’t understand a LOT of those strange feelings/states of mind, which I was confronted with. I got hurt very easily and reciprocated with a fury of an undercut trading partner. Fortunately, my first relationship girlfriend was 4 years older and even more matured. 

SkryťVypnúť reklamu
reklama
Obrázok blogu


”Samantha: Ladies! Seamen, twelve o'clock! Miranda: I pray when I turn around there are sailors, because with her, you never know. .”
  In 1999 I moved to Boston and eventually rented a room in a family house, in one of the green leafy wealthy suburbs. At that time I courted mostly unsuccessfully mostly very beautiful French girls. Luckily, my landlady turned out to be a dance teacher and she finally broke me into a little gig called Dance Free . I never danced before (not a lesson) and as such I was a perfect material for this wild ecstatic movement. It took me a while though to become part of the freeform dance community and for my social life to slowly pick up. I grew into a VERY good mover and the girls took notice.

SkryťVypnúť reklamu
reklama
Obrázok blogu


”From my experience, honey, if he seems too good to be true—he probably is.”
 To be honest with ya, I don’t remember exactly when I saw my first S&C episode. There is that hazy memory of a pilot – introductory episode filled with all those desperate testimonials. That would place it sometimes in year 2000, because that was the year I started to rent out DVDs from the local library. Since I never subscribed to HBO itself, I was through most of my S&C career at least 2 seasons behind (which turned out to bite me back).

Obrázok blogu


”When it comes to relationships, maybe we're all in glass houses, and shouldn't throw stones. Because you can never really know. Some people are settling down, some are settling and some people refuse to settle for anything less. Than butterflies... .”
  I liked the first season, and got a lot of laughs out of it, but it wasn’t a mind-altering experience. I think that in 2000 I was too young and unhappy to relate to 33years old women problems and was much more interested in 20something women bodies. Over the time, the show kind of grew on me and I became very fond of it. It recently dawned on me that all my girlfriends after the first one were HUGE almost religious fans of the show. I couldn’t help but wonder, whether from then on I unknowingly dated wannabe Carries in various stages of development.

SkryťVypnúť reklamu
reklama
Obrázok blogu


”I don't believe in e-mail. I'm an old-fashioned girl. I prefer calling and hanging up.”
   They all were more or less independent, more than less ambitious and vocal about their needs, unhappy with smooth sailing days - they loved to fight and then make up, they worried all the time and they all loved sex. (I wonder whether I just didn’t accidentaly characterized most of the female population.) My Russian girlfriend had a whole show (at that time 4 seasons) burned on several pirated CD’s in a DivX format. My American one even spoke like Carrie. She (of course) never admitted that. We broke off last year, a few weeks after the final episode was aired. I remember that day quite vividly. She had that weekly ritual to watch the show in her girlfriend’s house that had a cable. When she came back that day, she was sad and happy and very ... cute. That was the last time we made love.

Obrázok blogu


”Maybe some women aren't meant to be tamed. Maybe they're supposed to run wild until they find someone -- just as wild -- to run with.”
 Two days ago I was shopping for some shoes (for soccer) and saw my very first girlfriend in the electronics department. She was on the cover of S&C DVD, season six, part two. I had to buy her. When I watched those last few episodes, I realized that a year ago I was evaluated/confronted by the very same measures/needs which Carrie used/expressed. If I had seen it then, we might have been still together because I would understand her much better.

Obrázok blogu


”I don't believe in the Republican party or the Democratic party. I just believe in parties.”
 From now on, guys, we might be dating just different flavors of Carrie Bradshaw all over again. I don't mean that women are now just trying to mimick her in everything, I think, it' more like a combination where the other part is just that vast intoxicating newly found freedom to express or face what creators of S&C so masterfully named and brought out of a closet.  If you want to know what women want, there is no need to put on your girlfriend’s pantyhose, blue bra, wax your legs or stick a hairdryer in a tub. Just rent out S&C and you’ll find out. Things just got much more simpler ... and interesting. In my modest opinion “Sex and the City” makes for the best Television ever and young women all over the world very VERY lucky. Somebody just saved them, offered them a guidance and directions for this crazy beautiful bipolar world (and something to show their mothers when they keep bugging them that at 26 all good women are married). Brand new Bible with Gospels of Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda.

Obrázok blogu


”Carrie: Maybe I can't leave New York. I don't know how I'd do someplace else.  Samantha: Believe me, your fabulousness would translate.”
  As for me, I asked my very first girlfriend (by email) whether she watches the show. (She is divorced now.) She said No (by email) and asked back whether there is something she should know about. I think that I am going to ask her out … here. Because she is part of that very new frontier - those few remaining standing originals that I would like to cast in my show.

Obrázok blogu


”After a while, you just want to be with the one who makes you laugh.”


[1] Pictures – Courtesy of HBO website – the ultimate resource for all S&C addicts

jakub kráľ

jakub kráľ

Bloger 
  • Počet článkov:  52
  •  | 
  • Páči sa:  0x

Na otázku, kto som, sa vzhľadom na moju ubíjajúcu nedôležitosť názory prekvapivo ostro rôznia. Ja osobne sa prikláňam k teórii o neuznanom byzantínskom cisárovi, ktorého 29. mája 1453 na hradbách Carihradu rozpitvali Turci (au) .. Rád hladkám jemné veci.Tu sú obrázky.A píšte. Zoznam autorových rubrík:  NezaradenáHawai'i CallsAmerican beautySunday afternoonsA little too close to GodSlovensko, krajina môjho disenOtporúčamTypi na voľný čas

Prémioví blogeri

Zmudri.sk

Zmudri.sk

3 články
Iveta Rall

Iveta Rall

88 článkov
Monika Nagyova

Monika Nagyova

296 článkov
Matúš Sarvaš

Matúš Sarvaš

3 články
Lucia Šicková

Lucia Šicková

4 články
reklama
reklama
SkryťZatvoriť reklamu